Making the most delicious cake

Edit: This post was from a year and a half ago but its a follow up to my last post (the only vanilla cake recipe you will ever need).

 

 

Soo I’m not sure if I had mentioned this before but I am in pastry school..I know terrible for my diet. But yesterday we made a traditional white layer cake (think wedding cake) with raspberry italian buttercream. It was amazing! Seriously once you make this type of buttercream you will never buy any other kind again. It is that good!

IMG_0828

IMG_0822

Before I arrived at class I went to this restaurant supply store called Surfas. It has everything and anything you could ever imagine. This was one of my favorite finds…Can you guess what it was?!?! GUY’S. IT. WAS. A .SPRINKLE. WALL. If I could bathe in sprinkles I would. I love sprinkles. Let’s just take a moment to bask in all of its glory.IMG_0821-0

 

Okay okay I’m done with my lust for sprinkles. Haha anyways so this Italian buttercream is to die for; I’ll admit yes, it is a pain in the tush but ya know what?! Totally worth it. The secret is really good quality butter, like the best European butter you can find.

 

Italian Buttercream

1 Lb. unsalted butter, softened
1c. sugar *reserve 1/4c.*
1/4 c. water
5 egg whites (room temp)
1/4t. cream of tartar

Dissolve sugar in the water first and then heat in a pot, stirring constantly, until the sugar dissolves and the mixture is bubbling. Stop stirring and reduce the heat to low. ( There should be NO color in the sugar/water mixture)

In the bowl of a mixer, beat the egg whites until foamy, add the cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form. Gradually add the remaining 1/4 sugar to form a meringue.

Increase the heat and boil the water/sugar mixture to 248-250 degrees (firm ball stage)

In a stead stream, add the sugar mixture to the meringue. Slowly on the side of the bowl with the mixer on low so you can slowly temper the meringue. This part is make or break for your buttercream. Once you feel the mixture is a good temperature then whip on high until the mixture is cool.

Add the butter 1 tbsp. at a time. Then add flavorings if desired.
This is the one we used at school. fruit pureeIts from France the brand is Ravifruit. Highly recommended.

Voila, that is all! This is by far the tastiest buttercream EVER, give it a try and let me know in the comments how you liked it!

Until next time!
xoxo,
B

Leave a Reply

